10 Years Ago

In an unrelated Google search, two days ago my mom came across this article from exactly 10 years ago. It’s amazing for me to reflect on the fact that I was only 19 years old when I traveled alone to work in Africa for the first time. This article reminded me of wrestling with the voluminous mosquito net that smothered me my first night in the hotel in Entebbe, my first time catching a motorcycle taxi over the hill to Masese to meet with the POMU Men’s Group, and my eye-opening experiences being welcomed into an unfamiliar culture. I made many trips to Africa after this one to work on various projects in different countries, but this article brought me back to the moment when I first fell in love with this work.

https://patch.com/massachusetts/newton/an–newton-resident-to-spend-summer-working-with-an-n6b8587a846

Leave a comment